Label : Brilliant
Format : Flac (image + cue)
Cover : Yes

Handel in Italy

• Italian Cantatas for Soprano Solo
• Italian Cantatas for Soprano and Countertenor
• Sonatas for Violconsort and Cantatas for Tenor
• Serenata Aci, Galatea e Polifemo
• Italian Duets for two sopranos
• Apollo e Dafne
• Ero e Leandro
• The Alchemist

Stefanie True · Klaartje van Veldhoven · Luciana Mancini, Mitchell Sandler · Valentina Varriale · Tom Sol · Nicola Wemyss · Michael Borgstede · Jorge Juan Morata · Lixsania Fernández · Anna Korondi · Mária Zádori · Ralf Popken, Veronika Winter · Jochen Kowalski · Gemma Bertagnolli, Susanne Rydén

Contrasto Armonico · Mvsica Perdvta · Musica ad Rhenum, Recondita Armonia Ensemble · Capella Savaria · Concerto Armonico · Das kleine Konzert · Akademie für alte Musik, Berlin Harmonices Mundi

This set presents an extensive collection of works which George Frideric Handel wrote during his short but astoundingly fruitful stay in Italy. Here he met the great composers of the day, imbuing the rich Italian style, full of drama, cantabile and instrumental brilliance.

The set’s focus is on the secular Cantatas, all of them mini-operas in scale and substance, dealing with human emotions of love, jealousy, hope and despair. The influence of Handel’s stay in Italy can be found in many of his great operas and oratorios he later wrote in London.

Apart from the Cantatas the set includes a selection of Italian Duets, and the Serenata Aci, Galatea & Polifemo. · Excellent performances in Historically Informed Performance Practice, by Contrasto Armonico, Musica Perduta and specialist vocal soloists.

Tracklist : Handel in Italy