Label : Decca
Format : Ape
Cover : Yes

• 55 CD original jacket, original couplings collection celebrating Maestro Riccardo Chailly’s 40 years on Decca

• Includes complete cycles of Beethoven, Brahms (x2), Schumann (x2), Bruckner and Mahler

• Featuring the orchestras with whom Chailly has been most closely associated: the Gewandhausorchester, the Royal Concertgebouw, and the Deutsches Symphonie-Orchester Berlin

• Includes the award-winning Beethoven and Brahms cycles from Leipzig and critically-acclaimed reference cycles of Mahler and Bruckner from Amsterdam

• Schumann’s symphonies with both the Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra and, in Mahler’s orchestrations, the Leipzig Gewandhaus Orchestra

• The sonically spectacular Messiaen Turangalîla-Symphonie with Jean-Yves Thibaudet

• Zemlinsky’s rare early Symphony in B Flat plus the Lyric Symphony (originally released in Decca’s Entartete Musik series)

• Cesar Franck’s Symphony in D minor and Symphonic Variations with Jorge Bolet as soloist

• Mendelssohn 2 ‘Lobgesang’ from his inaugural concerts as Music Director of the Gewandhaus (Mendelssohn’s own orchestra) using the composer’s original published score (the first conductor to record this version) & the late-analogue recording in the revised version with the London Philharmonic: first released in 1980 on Philips LP

• Mendelssohn 3 ‘Scottish’ with the Leipzig Gewandhaus Orchestra in the 1842 London version” & in the revised more familiar score with the London Symphony Orchestra

• Berio’s Sinfonia, recorded in the presence of the composer himself

Riccardo Chailly was born into a musical family in Milan. He studied at theconservatories in Milan and Perugia and received specialized training in conducting from Franco Ferrara at his Siena summer courses. At the age of 20, Chailly became assistant conductor to Claudio Abbado at Milan’s La Scala.

He made his opera debut there in 1978 and was soon in great demand at the world’s leading opera houses and concert halls. His recorded repertoire ranges from the music of Bach and the great classical symphonic and operatic works to contemporary compositions. Chailly’s ‘symphonic’ career can be broadly described in three chapters: his first major post was with the Berlin Radio Symphony Orchestra (now the Deutsches Symphonie-Orchester Berlin) from 1982 to 1988. Then in 1988, he moved to the great Concertgebouw Orchestra in Amsterdam (the ensemble gained its ‘Royal’ prefix during his tenure there) where he stayed until 2004. In 2005, he moved on to the venerable Gewandhausorchester in

Leipzig, an ensemble to which he’d been introduced nearly 20 years earlier by no less a figure than Herbert von Karajan who maybe discerned in his young Italian colleague a fascination with tradition and the challenge of re-energising it in a modern age. In 2016, in a move that had a real inevitability about it, he announced his departure from Leipzig to return to his spiritual home and take musical charge of La Scala, Milan.

An exclusive Decca artist for over three decades, Chailly has held a fascination with how you keep a tradition alive yet invigorate it and evolve. His recordings reflect the traditions of the great orchestras he has led while embracing the necessity to inhabit the presence, bringing a freshness and vigour to familiar works without concession to established performance styles; to listen anew.

CD1 BEETHOVEN: Symphonies 1&2 · Overture “Leonore No.3”, op.72b [Gewandhausorchester Leipzig]
CD2 BEETHOVEN: Symphony No.3 “Eroica” · Fidelio Overture, op.72 · Symphony No.4 [Gewandhausorchester Leipzig]
CD3 BEETHOVEN: Coriolan Overture, op.62 · Symphonies Nos. 5&6 [Gewandhausorchester Leipzig]
CD4 BEETHOVEN: Egmont Overture, op.84 · Symphony No.7 · The Ruins of Athens Overture, op.113 · Symphony No.8 [Gewandhausorchester Leipzig]
CD5 BEETHOVEN: Overture “Namensfeier”, op.115 · “King Stephen Or Hungary’s First Benefactor” Overture, op.117; Symphony No.9 [Gewandhausorchester Leipzig]
CD6 BRAHMS: Symphony No.1 · Academic Festival Overture [Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra]
CD7 BRAHMS: Symphony No.2 · WEBERN: Im Sommerwind [Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra]
CD8 BRAHMS: Symphony No.3 · SCHOENBERG: Chamber Symphony No.1 [Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra]
CD9 BRAHMS: Symphony No.4 · SCHOENBERG: 5 Orchestral Pieces [Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra]
CD10 BRAHMS: Symphonies 1&3 [Gewandhausorchester Leipzig]
CD11 BRAHMS: Symphonies 2&4 [Gewandhausorchester Leipzig]
CD12 BRAHMS: Tragic Overture · Variations on a Theme by Haydn etc [Gewandhausorchester Leipzig]
CD13 BRUCKNER: Overture in G minor · Symphony No.0 [Deutsches Symphonie-Orchester Berlin]
CD14 BRUCKNER: Symphony No.1 [Deutsches Symphonie-Orchester Berlin]
CD15 BRUCKNER: Symphony No.2 [Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra]
CD16 BRUCKNER: Symphony No.3 [Deutsches Symphonie-Orchester Berlin]
CD17 BRUCKNER: Symphony No.4 [Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra]
CD18 BRUCKNER: Symphony No.5 [Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra]
CD19 BRUCKNER: Symphony No.6 · WOLF: Four Goethe Songs
CD20 BRUCKNER: Symphony No.7 [Deutsches Symphonie-Orchester Berlin]
CD21 BRUCKNER: Symphony No.8 [Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra]
CD22 BRUCKNER: Symphony No.9 · J.S. BACH: Music Offering: Ricercare, BWV 1079 transcr. Webern [Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra]
CD23 DVORAK: Carnival Overture, op.92 · Symphony No.9 “From the New World” [Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra]
CD24 FRANCK: Symphony In D minor · Variations symphoniques* [*Jorge Bolet · Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra]
CD25 LISZT: A Faust Symphony [Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra]
CD26 BERG: Piano Sonata orch. Verbey · MAHLER: Symphony No.1 [Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra]
CD27-28 MAHLER: Symphony No.2 “Resurrection” · Totenfeier [Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra]
CD29-30 MAHLER: Symphony No.3 · Suite aus den Orchesterwerken von J.S. Bach [Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra]
CD31 MAHLER: Symphony No.4 · BERG: Seven Early Songs [Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra]
CD32 MAHLER: Symphony No.5 [Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra]
CD33 MAHLER: Symphony No.6 [Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra]
CD34-35 DIEPENBROCK: Im grossen Schweigen · MAHLER: Symphony No.7 [Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra]
CD36 Symphony No.8 “Symphony of a Thousand” [Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra]
CD37-38 MAHLER: Symphony No.9 [Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra]
CD39 MAHLER: Symphony No.10 (Ed. Cooke) [Radio-Symphonie-Orchester Berlin]
CD40 MENDELSSOHN: Symphony No.2 “Lobgesang” [London Philharmonic Orchestra & Choir]
CD41 MENDELSSOHN: A Midsummer Night’s Dream Overture · Symphony No.2 “Lobgesang” [Gewandhausorchester Leipzig]
CD42 MENDELSSOHN: Symphony No.3 “Scottish” [London Symphony Orchestra] Symphony No.3 “Scottish” (London Version) [Gewandhausorchester Leipzig]
CD43 MESSIAEN: Turangalîla-symphonie [Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra]
CD44 MOSOLOV: Iron Foundry · PROKOFIEV: Symphony No.3 · VARESE: Arcana [Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra]
CD45-46 SCHUMANN: Symphonies 1&4 · Symphonies 2&3 [Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra]
CD47-48 SCHUMANN-MAHLER: Symphonies 1-4 [Gewandhausorchester Leipzig]
CD49 STRAVINSKY: Symphony of Psalms* · Firewords (Feu d’artifice) · Le Roi des etoiles* · The Song of the Nightingale (Le chant du rossingnol) · BERIO: Sinfonia [Radio-Symphonie-Orchester & *Chorus Berlin; Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra & Electric Phoenix Ensemble (Berio)]
CD50 TCHAIKOVSKY: Symphony No.5 [Wiener Philharmoniker]
CD51 TCHAIKOVSKY: Manfred Symphony [Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra]
CD52 ZEMLINSKY: Symphony No.2 in B flat · Psalm 23 [Radio-Symphonie-Orchester Berlin]
CD53 ZEMLINSKY: Lyrische Symphonie · Sinfonische Gesänge [Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra]
CD54-55 PUCCINI: Preludio Sinfonico · Capriccio Sinfonico [RSO Berlin] VERDI: Sinfonia in C [Orchestra Sinfonia di Milano] ROSSINI: Sinfonia in D “al Conventello” · Sinfonia in D “di Bologna” · String Sonatas 1-6 [Orchestra del Teatro Comunale di Bolgona]